Daft-as-a-brush-dog strikes again

I lost Snipe last night.

Snipe - 20 September 2009

Snipe - 20 September 2009

Knowing that we’ve got rain heading our way, I took my time at the farm, lingering in the pig enclosures long after they’d finished eating, enjoying the warm evening air and the sounds of the birds as they got ready to settle down for the night (they take longer to say good night than the Waltons ever did…).

By the time the owls started waking up, I decided it was time to head for home and let the dogs have one last run round while I washed the pig buckets. I stacked them to dry, hung up my brush, closed the shutters on the shipping container I use as a feed shed and called the dogs to put them in the car.

Midge came running.

No sign of Snipe.

I called and whistled and waited for the sound of her name tag tinkling against her collar.

Nothing.

I called again, louder this time.

And again.

And again.

And again.

I walked down the lane, calling and whistling.

Nothing.

I tried the neighbouring fields.

Nothing.

I walked down to the river.

Nothing.

I was about to call the police to report her missing when I had a thought and ran back to the shipping container and flung open the shutter.

Yup, there she was.

I let her out and she fell at my feet, crying and shaking, rolling over onto her back, twisting and writhing as she apologised for not coming when I called.

Why didn’t the idiot bark?!

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by welshpurpletree on 6 October 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I so love Snipe, if I’m ever going to have a dog, I want one like her.

  2. Posted by Jan on 6 October 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Snipe looks just like Jasper, except Jasper’s maybe a bit darker. You’ve got to love them!

  3. “Snicker, giggle, snort”….thanks for the good start to my day!

  4. Good Lord, I thought you meant….well….’lost” as in permanently!

    Whew!

    Glad she was just ‘lost’, then found 🙂

    “Wazzat”

  5. WPT: For everyone’s sakes, I’m hoping she’s one of a kind 😉 No, one day I’d like to breed from her, keep a daughter. Need to find a SENSIBLE dog though. One with lots of common sense 🙂

    Jan: Snipe’s a lot darker than my mum’s dog, her full sister, who is so pale she’s almost white. As you’d expect, I prefer the darker shades 🙂

    DM: I’ve enjoyed so many of your lots’ antics I’m glad I can return the favour!

    Kadeeae: I was hoping that the post title would give the game away… sorry about the scare!

  6. Ah, poor girl! She’s got an inquisitive mind, can you blame her!

  7. Duh bark? that’s just much to rude. 🙂

  8. Inquisitive? Polite?

    Useless … that’s what she is!

  9. Posted by Lec on 9 October 2009 at 8:03 am

    Wow, she really is taking dizzy to the extreme – wish my lot did polite as well as they do useless.

  10. She’s not *that* polite as she barks at anything else, why not when she’s shut in the dark and I’m calling for her just a few feet away?!

    I dread to think what’s coming next…

Comments are closed.

