Somerset

I’m currently staying with friends in Somerset while I put things back together. It’s raining today so the view across the valley is obscured by interminably grey clouds, which is a shame as I’ve spent a lot of time leaning against the fence or sitting on the roots of some of the ancient and wise trees, just staring at the hills and fields, watching the steam train chug across the valley floor, revelling in the peace and silence, and being comforted by the knowledge that I am simply the latest in how ever many thousands of years to look over the same valley, that my fears and hopes aren’t that much different to those who have gone before me, or who will come after me.

I haven’t taken any satisfactory photos of the view, which is probably a good thing as it’s something to experience at the time. A photograph couldn’t possibly capture the emotions that the view inspires, at least not for me.

But here are some others that I’ve taken.

Somerset - 27 December 2009

This is the hill that I let the dogs run loose on. Midge has thus far failed to catch any rabbits, despite her best efforts. Snipe, in turn, has also failed in her deer hunting quest, though she has eaten more than her fair share of deer poo...

Snipe - 27 December 2009

Snipe takes a quick break after running up and down (and down and up and up and down...) the hill fetching sticks...

4 responses to this post.

  1. There’s nothing like just sitting and soaking it all in. Peace and quiet and time to just ‘be’.

  2. Glad you’re getting away from the routine for a bit – enjoy!

  3. Posted by Jon Storey on 29 December 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Soak it all in and enjoy! Two lovely shots too.

  4. Sounds a gorgeous place. I love that part of the world. xxx

Comments are closed.

