Dogs in disgrace

I took the dogs for a long walk across the hills and fields yesterday, crossing not one but two streams, throwing sticks for Snipe and letting Midge race after as many rabbits as she liked. And all that in the pouring rain.

And how did the little madams thank me?

By rolling in fox dung!

Snipe and Midge - 27 December 2009

Snipe and Midge - 27 December 2009

So what did I have to do?

Stand outside in the pouring rain and wash the little darlings.

Hmph…

7 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, lovely fox dung – nearly as nice as l’eau de dead hedgehog – a favorite of old boy Sam!

  2. Mmmmm 🙂

  3. Posted by Jon Storey on 30 December 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Ah! the little dears.

    My old dog disappeared one day to visit a pig farm, I could smell her 1/4 of a mile away as she wandered back. It took several unpleasant hours and 3 or 4 shampoos before she was allowed back into the house.

    She still stank but at least I knew she was clean!

  4. Posted by Jan on 30 December 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Early 80s, me and my ex’s dog decided to roll well and good in dead fish (or seal – God knows). It was below freezing but we had to drive a long wazy back with all the windows open. Dogs!!!!

  5. Jon and Jan, thank you for reminding me that it could be so very worse!

  6. It sounds idyllic where you live. Bet the dogs had a fantastic time. Mine like to roll in dead birds we occasionally come across!

  7. Hey Lyn, yes, they did indeed have a fantastic time… Oh, you don’t mean the poo, do you?!

Comments are closed.

