Perchance to dream

So … after a wonderfully relaxing day yesterday, I had the longest night’s sleep that has come my way for several weeks. Eight hours! There are some nights I’ve only managed two, so you can imagine how desperate my body was for the opportunity to close my eyes and sleeeeep.

It’s just a shame that (a) I fell asleep whilst watching David Tennant’s last episode as The Doctor on iPlayer and (b) those eight hours were filled with nightmares, all of which I can recall in vivid technicolour.

On the one hand, dreams, whether good or bad, are just brain farts, a way for the subconscious to sort out the day’s events, but …

Good dreams are wonderfully comforting, a bit like reading a well-loved book or watching a favourite film. The memory warms you like a mug of coffee on a cold day.

Nightmares, however, have an irrational hold on the waking mind. They lurk in the shadows, waiting, waiting… and then, when you relax your guard for even a moment, they raise a cold finger and run it down your spine, inject a snapshot into your brain, force you to replay your greatest fears. Your breath catches in your throat, your heart races, your muscles tense, ready to spring away.

But there’s nowhere to run, nowhere to hide.

And then its grip slips, you pull away, shake your head, return to the real world where a dream is a dream and is a million miles away. And you rationalise, reconcile, say “brain farts” because it makes you smile.

But you know it’s there, lurking in the shadows, waiting, just waiting…

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jan on 2 January 2010 at 7:42 pm

    NIghtmares are horrible! You have my sympathy.

  2. I am l assume the weird one here. I have some terrible nightmares and love them. Give me a good nightmare over a nice sweet dream anynight. One night l woke up during a really bad one and l realised it was a challenge to me somehow and now l am happiest with a stonking bad nightmare. Since then l have not had a nightmare l have woken scared from or as far as l know been scared in but then most of our dreams good or bad are not remembered.

Comments are closed.

