Picking up the pieces…

Well … I was going to write something witty today but my wits have been buried under several inches of snow, along with a large portion of my sanity, not to mention my anti-chocolate armour (a bar of chocolate is a bar of chocolate, right, no matter how big it is? Right? …)

Where was I?

Oh yes.

The snow.

I no longer like the snow.

Today, I was meant to have an assessment for counselling. Believe me when I say this was a Big Deal. It took a long time to come round to the idea that some sort of professional support was required. Then a bit longer to ring up and make the appointment. Thankfully, it was only a week but a week is a long time when something is looming.

But the appointment gave me something to aim for, a structure. 2pm Wednesday, Wednesday at two o’clock, a mantra, a rhythm, a heart beat.

And then it snowed and all appointments were cancelled.

I have to ring tomorrow to book a new appointment – that is, if they are open.

That’s the problem with pinning your hopes on something, you never know when the goal posts will be moved.

So it’s been a bit of a miserable afternoon for me. All that adrenalin had to go somewhere and it came out as a lot of rather negative bullshit, though, of course, at the time what’s real is what feels real.

A blip, a dip, a bloody great crater.

Use what metaphor you will, I fell good and proper.

But I’m back on my feet now, after several cups of tea and a couple of rounds of toast and honey.

This will not become a moan and groan blog, I will not allow it.

So here’s something to make you all giggle.

I’m currently staying with my friend H and her two kids, L and A.

H and A built a snowman this afternoon (L being far too aloof to engage in such activities with his mum and little sister!).

Spot the difference…

6 January 2010

6 January 2010

2 February 2009

2 February 2009

🙄

Edit: on re-reading, it occurs to me that I failed to mention the real reason I got back on my feet (well, on my arse on the sofa) – support from friends. Never underestimate the power of a phone call or a hug. Invaluable.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Granny Anne on 6 January 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Sorry to hear that your appointment was cancelled. Please don’t lose heart. I think you are over the worst hurdle by admitting (to yourself) that you need help, just as we all do at some time in our lives. That shows your strength,not your weakness. I’m sure you will look back on this “black time” and realise that it was the turning point in your life, and that the future will be much brighter. Luv

  2. Posted by Jon Storey on 6 January 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Is there a prize?

    Your nose is more orange!

  3. As a prize you may, if you choose, clean out my chickens for me 😀

  4. Gutted, as I know how hard it was to get to today’s date in your head. Keep trying to smile though, I’m sure it helps!

  5. T’is ok, am mildly hysterical at the moment. All in a good way, though 😀

  6. I’m sure you can use a few long distance hugs…though they might be a bit soggy from the swim. 😉

  7. /puts on waterproofs….

    😀

  8. Posted by J C on 6 January 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Here’s hoping that another appointment won’t take too long. Have a virtual hug from me and Jasper [[[Jo]]]

  9. Posted by Jenny on 6 January 2010 at 10:39 pm

    Having a laugh helps. I’m sure H and the kids are keeping you giggling.
    Keep smiling 😉

  10. Jan and Jenny, thanks 🙂 And yes giggling has been the order of the evening. For which you are partly to blame, Jenny 😆

  11. which is which? uncanny! 😀

Comments are closed.

