Unpacked!

All you cynics and pessimists may now apologise… It is official, I have UNPACKED! Yes, you read that right, unpacked. Well, ok, there *are* three or four boxes under my bed … BUT … they contain Stuff. You know, that Thing you don’t know what to do with, but don’t want to get rid of…

But as for the rest of it, it’s unpacked and either lives somewhere useful or has been consigned to Freecycle or the bonfire. The latter includes you don’t-want-to-know-how-many boxes of paperwork. Does anyone know why I still had my GCSE French folder? Or the exam papers from my first year at university? No, nor me! But along with a car load of other combustibles, they are gone from my life. Or at least they will be, once I can find some matches or a lighter!

So there you have it.

I have officially Moved.

Now I just need to track down a sofa bed and then start being sociable and invite people to stay. And then torture them with my cooking (*evil grin*).

The only thing I’m stuck with is what to call my new abode. It’s an annexe, a single storey granny flat built from concrete blocks against a lovely old farmhouse. It’s very Modern. All right angles and symmetrical. The carpets are vile. The curtains are worse (pink in the living room, blue and flowery in the bedroom). I don’t want to refer to my new pad as “the annexe”. But being so small, it doesn’t count as a house and it’s certainly not a cottage. And bungalow doesn’t fit the bill since it’s semi-detached. I guess “the flat” describes it best, except I tend to think of flats as multi-storey buildings.

There’s one thing I do know … it’s Home. And that, my friends, is what really counts.

Sunrise on 31 January 2010, as seen from my garden

Sunrise on 31 January 2010, as seen from my garden

The view from the road - 31 January 2010

The view from the road - 31 January 2010

8 responses to this post.

  1. The views are fantastic !! Lifts the soul. As I was reading before I got to the end…My thoughts were just call it home…seems as if though you have !! : ) Enjoy .

    and now to unpack my long forgotten boxes ; -)

  2. Who care’s what the building is, so long as it’s home and you’ve got scenery like that! Have a fab life in Somerset and don’t drink too much scrumpy!

  3. Posted by Jan on 9 February 2010 at 5:42 pm

    How about “studio”, although I think annexe is fine! Glad you got unpacked.

  4. Posted by Jon Storey on 9 February 2010 at 7:47 pm

    “Home” sounds good to me!

    I am very impressed with the unpacking etc. Have a good life there!

    ps. Like the shots.

  5. Lovely pictures! What a beautiful sight to see every day. Settle in and enjoy it.

  6. Oh, and did I mention the best bit? The landlords will do the garden for me as well! Phew 🙂 And they’ve said I can walk the dogs in the orchards. And we’re talking acres and acres and acres. Thus far, the dogs love it, apart from the Get Off The Furniture rule…!

  7. I think ‘flatling’ has a nice ring to it, as I have always been of the opinion that if the universe hasn’t provided the appropriate word, it is one’s moral duty to make up for it. 🙂

  8. Flatling…. I love it!

Comments are closed.

