Settling in

Now that I’ve unpacked, the dogs are starting to settle into their new house and routine. Snipe loves the orchards, which my landlords have said I can walk the dogs in. Midge, on the other hand, is in disgrace as she took herself off for a walk the other day … into the neighbouring farmer’s field! So she is now resigning herself to life on the lead, not least because there’s easy access to both the main road and the railway line!

Snipe - 11 February 2010

Snipe - 11 February 2010

Midge - 11 February 2010

Midge - 11 February 2010

I took them on a three mile walk yesterday and was pleasantly surprised this morning to discover that my legs don’t ache at all. I consider this a victory, though I admit I took a downhill route…!

Tree in the orchard - 11 February 2010

Tree in the orchard - 11 February 2010

My bad days consist of hiding under the duvet. Better days involve watching DVDs, attempting to read (I have concentration issues 😦 ) or playing Civilisation IV to distract myself. Good days involve walking the dogs aimlessly, enjoying my new home in the Somerset hills.

Sunset over the orchard - 11 February 2010

Sunset over the orchard - 11 February 2010

Quite what I’ll do if it buckets down with rain on a good day is anyone’s guess!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Snipe looks more than content in that photo! And if it’s raining, get the waterproofs on and get out in it – you’ve had plenty of practise at that over the last couple of years!

  2. Stop being sensible! xx

  3. Posted by ceebs on 14 February 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Oh if its raining you’ll be dancing naked in the orchard, while jack russels are chasing you yelping,

  4. Hmmm, not quite the suggestion I was after… I’ll bear it in mind though 😆

  5. At least everything isn’t snow covered…it hasn’t changed here much since I took those blizzard pictures that I posted the other day. Cabin fever anyone?

  6. Posted by Jan on 14 February 2010 at 9:28 pm

    If you’re having a good day I don’t suppose a bit of rain will put you back, and you’ll gradually get more and more of those days.

  7. Posted by Jon Storey on 14 February 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Yes, the dogs look very contented! And overall you sound content too. I know what you mean about reading, I manage just a few pages at a time, I have books I have been reading for about a year!

    ( I should wait a month or two before the naked dancing, the frosts can be a little sharp still )

  8. DM: It’s been lovely and sunny here today. But we’re due rain in the week, if that’s any consolation?

    Jan: I know. But I’m hoping the weather gods are listening and that I can combine the rubbish days with the rubbish weather!

    Jon: I’m with you on the frost thing…

Comments are closed.

