Dogs! Who needs ’em?!

I am not talking to my dogs. On Monday, Snipe rolled in fox dung for the second day in a row. She stank to high heaven. So I plopped her in the bath.

Snipe - 1 March 2010

Snipe - 1 March 2010

Luckily, I was forward thinking enough to strip down to boxers and t-shirt beforehand, as the drying process left me as soggy as her! 🙄

Midge - 1 March 2010

Midge - 1 March 2010

We had a few pleasant days, but then yesterday, Midge did a runner when Ally kindly took them for a lunch-time walk and didn’t come back until dusk.

Then, this morning, they both did a runner! Snipe eventually came back, but without her collar. There’s no sign of Midge and I don’t suppose there will be for several hours.

I. Am. Not. Impressed.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Mini Houdinis! Is it a struggle to get Snipe in the bath?

  2. I suspect that it will be the *second* time she needs to go in that will prove to be the problem…

  3. I’ll run her back later if you want to go home! 🙂

  4. I’ve got some things to do online and will see what’s what when I’m done 🙂

  5. Posted by Pilar on 4 March 2010 at 11:48 am

    hi, lovely dogs you have 🙂 good luck keeping up with those, they seem full of energy

  6. Hi Pilar, thanks for stopping by 🙂 And yes, they are lovely – just not on days like today!

  7. Bad, bad dogs. Did you know that tomato ketchup is good for getting fox poo smells off bad dogs. Rinse to remove worst, apply ketchup, rub in well, rinse.

  8. Posted by Jon Storey on 4 March 2010 at 1:02 pm

    One of my old dogs paid a visit to the local pig farm one day. She was more than 400m away when I smelt her coming!

    Several washes later and still neither of us were welcome at home…..
    …….took another 3 years for us to leave though!

    Re: Rosie and the ketchup. I have this nightmare vision of our labs getting loose in the house during the tomato phase of the clean-up!

  9. @ Jon – which is why we wash outside with the hosepipe!

  10. Posted by Jan on 4 March 2010 at 7:57 pm

    BAD DOGS! But you love them really!

  11. As predicted, Midge was out for several hours before slinking home, looking far too pleased with herself.

    There’s no sign of Snipe’s collar but I was amused to discover that ever since poo-gate, Snipe has been conspicuous through her sudden absence whenever I have a bath 😆

Comments are closed.

