Archive for December 20th, 2008

Too quiet

It was very quiet up at the farm when I arrived yesterday morning. Tia and Scrumpy greeted me with their usual grunts and calls for breakfast, as did Bailey and Brini but the silence from the weaners’ enclosure was eerie.

On Thursday, I delivered Cookie and Squeak to their new home where they’re going to end up as the most loved and pampered pet pigs in Wales and took the rest up to Mum’s, where they will spend the rest of the winter. She thinks she’s got a buyer for a pair of gilts and the rest will go into the freezer, having grown quite nicely in the 5 acre field that they’ll have all to themselves. Apart from Fergie, who will return to us when the weather warms up in the spring as she now belongs to B!

She was meant to be The Big Surprise on Christmas Day but I inadvertently sent a text to B which was intended for Jennie, which revealed the grand plan and was too direct to leave any wriggle room.

Modern technology has a lot to answer for!

B was thrilled and can’t wait to get her back in the spring – and it’s not as though I was going to wrap her up and put her under the tree, but I can’t believe I did that!!

But the field is still too quiet and it is going to take a while to get used to it 😦